5 Things I Miss From “Old School” Church

Our society is obsessed with “new”.  We are always looking for the latest gadget or item that we assume must be better because it’s the newest version.  When the original iPad came out in 2009, you couldn’t find one in the stores for months.  As soon as a shipment arrived in the store, there were people waiting to snatch them up.  They would sell out in minutes.

I purchased one within about a month after they came out.  And I loved it.  But around 9 months later, Apple did what Apple always does – they came out with iPad 2.  And millions of people cast aside their outdated, piece of junk iPads, and upgraded to the much more advanced iPad 2.

At first I was disappointed.  I had spent more money than I really should have on something that society was telling me I should get rid of in order to have something better.  But I didn’t.  It’s three years – and three versions of iPads later – and I’m still using my “Model T version” iPad.  And it still works great.  I still love it.  It doesn’t have a camera.  I can’t “Facetime” chat with others who have iPhone 4 or a newer iPad.  But everything I wanted my iPad to do when I purchased it, it still does.

We fall into this trap in church as well.  When I was in Israel four years ago, I stood with about 80 other Christians at Gordon’s Tomb – a site that many believe to be the place of Jesus’ crucifixion and burial.  As we took communion, we could look to one side and see the place where Jesus may have died, and to the other side we could see where He arose.  My wife and I were moved deeply, and felt compelled to lead those with us in singing:

We are standing on holy ground

And I know that there are angels all around

Let us praise Jesus now

We are standing in His presence

On holy ground

We asked the pastor for permission to lead the song, and he agreed.  As we began to sing, we were surprised that very few – maybe a half a dozen or so – had ever heard the song before.  This was one of the most popular worship songs of the 1980’s and 1990’s, and now these Believers who had been singing all of the latest songs for two weeks, had no idea what we were singing.

This kind of thing happens all the time in church.  We get obsessed with the new to such an extent that we lose the power of the old.  As I’ve thought about this lately, I’ve come up with my own personal list of things that I miss about “old school” church.

 1.       Sunday Evening Service – I’ve recently taken a position as part-time worship leader at a very conservative Southern Baptist church.  At first, I was a little put off by the fact that they still had a traditional Sunday evening worship service.  Don’t they realize that this hasn’t been the “cool” thing to do for over a decade?  People are busy.  They don’t have the time to repeat the same thing on Sunday night that they did on Sunday morning.  But I was wrong.

What I have come to remember was that Sunday evening was when the family gets together.  We get to service early and share with each other.  We laugh.  We pray.  We worship together and hear from the Lord.  And no one wants it to end.  We stay after in the auditorium and the lobby talking for sometimes thirty to forty-five minutes.  We go to dinner together afterward and keep it going as long as we can.  Those that skip Sunday evening, miss out on good quality “family time.”

2.       Choir – In an era of praise bands and worship teams, I miss the traditional choir.  I miss giving as many people as possible the opportunity to be a part of the music in the service.  I miss the prayer time we have during rehearsal.  I miss the big choir numbers with the difficult hours of preparation.  I miss the Christmas and Resurrection Sunday cantatas.  Some of my fondest church memories took place in choir rehearsals.  There’s something special about a large group of Brothers and Sisters in Christ coming together regularly to prepare to lead in worship.

3.       Sunday School – Many churches still have Sunday School, they’ve just changed the name to be more contemporary.  They call it home group, fellowship group, cell group, life group, etc.  And a lot of the time, these churches try to pull these groups out of the church building into homes in an attempt to foster more of a relational dynamic.  This isn’t bad.

But I miss the traditional Bible study, entry into church life aspect of Sunday School.  My pastor recently reminded me that for a century, the Sunday School was the primary evangelistic tool of the church.  This was where children and teenagers and adults who were not familiar with the Scriptures came together to learn them.  I miss that.

4.       Hymns – I love the new contemporary worship choruses.  I find myself singing songs like “10,000 Reasons” and “Our God” often as I’m going about my day.  But I also miss singing songs like “There is Power in the Blood” and “There is a Fountain.”  There are such deep theological truths buried in these old hymns that we often can’t fit into the more modern worship styles.  But when I’m struggling and hurting and wondering where God is, I don’t think of songs like “I love you, Lord.  And I lift my voice.”  I remember lines like “Great is Thy Faithfulness, O God, my Father.  There is no shadow of turning with Thee.”  I’m afraid that in our attempt at staying relevant and modern, we’ve lost some of this.

5.       Dressing Up – I get why pastors and churches have gone to more casual attire in church.  I know that this is done in an effort to help visitors who may not have the “fancy church clothes” to feel comfortable when coming to church.  I don’t believe that those who wear a suit or a dress are more accepted by God on Sunday than those who are wearing jeans and flip-flops.  But I remember Sunday being a day of distinctions.  When I was a kid, my family got up early and had cinnamon rolls.  We got dressed in our “Sunday Best” and went to church.  We had a big family dinner afterwards.  Sunday was a different day than the rest of the week.  And what we wore to church was a part of that.  I wonder if our casual attire has contributed to us losing that distinction.

 

That’s my list so far.  I’m sure there are many other things you and I can add to it.  What is the biggest thing you miss from “Old School” church?

4 thoughts on “5 Things I Miss From “Old School” Church

  1. I miss the quite before the service started. I miss people coming into the sanctuary and quietly, prayerfully preparing thier hearts before God, prior to the service starting. I also miss the organ playing quietly in the background during that time. In most “churches” today, CCM is piped-in over the “loudsystem” that people are unable to even think, let alone converse quietly.

    But what I miss most is the solemnity of the ENTIRE service. The responsive reading, the Gloria Patri after the offering, and the message from the pulpit that was based on the Bible, and not some cutesy illustration riddled with clever innuendos and humorous remarks. The message was about living in and for God through faith in Christ; not how to win friends and influence enimies, or how to have a better sex life, or how to refute (excuse me.. witness to) people of other faiths/denominations.

    And yes, the choir, dressing up, Sunday School, and the fellowship after the service. I guess that is why my wife and I have “home-churched” for 8 years now. We keep trying various churches in hopes of finding what we miss, but we have yet to find the church of our youth — the church that we used to dislike back then, but miss so dearly today. I guess it just goes to show that the old syaing is very true and accurate… “you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone.”

  2. Oh yeah… one more thing I miss… the fact that the entire church body was less than 250 people; that way we actually got to know and interact with one anohter and the fellowship was genuine, not simply smiling faces and impersonal handshakes. We actually KNEW the people we were praying for and going to visit and/or have dinner with. We learned what it was to be a part of one-another and actually CARE about each other. I think I miss THAT the most!

  3. I miss the “old days,” the hymns, Sunday evening, Sunday School, and choir. These were all part of the church I grew up in back in the 70’s. There is so much younger saints are missing when we don’t keep these things alive. I think especially the hymns. So rich with strong theology, so comforting, so powerful. Do young people even know who Fanny Crosby was?

    The church I now attend has 3 services, the earliest at 8 am is labeled traditional and hymns are sung using PowerPoint, there are no hymnals that I can find. But this service is too early for me and is mostly our most senior saints. Younger saints opt for the 9:30 and 11:00 “contemporary” services with choruses.

    I saw a choir once. I think it was during Easter.

    Don’t get me wrong. I love my church and I like the contemporary worship as well as traditional. I’m just a little concerned that young saints are missing out on so much when we don’t pay more attention to and incorporate “old school” worship into the modern.

  4. I’m a choir guy who misses the old choir. Too often, they’re just background noise without much thought or attention to actual ability and style. True, worshiping Jesus comes first, but who says you can’t have rhythm and harmony? And I’m with you on the hymns. I’m only 24 years old, but there are no lyrics like hymnals.

Join the discussion!

